DIRTBIKERUSH Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013

AMA Supercross 2013 - Round 16 Salt Lake Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013

Monster Energy AMA Supercross - Round 16 of the AMA Supercross in Salt Lake.

We are outdoors again but up in the high altitudes. It's cold with snow on the surrounding mountain tops and we have two championships that are up for grabs.

250 Heat 1 - Eli Tomac, Martin Davalos and Zach Osborne are the names in this heat. Off the line Tomac gets a bad jump and tries to sneak up the inside of the first corner, but gets hooked up on another rider and goes into the tough blocks.

Davalos has the lead from Osborne and Tomac has moved into a qualifying position. By the end of the race it's a Davalos win from Osborne and Savatgy. Eli Tomac has finished in fifth place.

250 Heat 2 - Jason Anderson gets the holeshot over Malcolm Stewart. In the second corner Roczen loses the front and goes down and is at the back of the pack by the time he gets going.

Stewart is lightning through the whoops and moves past Anderson. Roczen goes down in the whoops and pulls out to go to the lcq.

Malcolm Stewart wins his first ever heat race from Anderson and Tyla Rattray.

250 LCQ - There is a first turn pile-up and unfortunately Roczen is in the middle of it. The 250 lcq is only four laps and after two laps Roczen is up to third, but still five seconds behind.

Amazing, but Ken Roczen does not qualify for the main! He was visibly upset as he left the track.

250 Main Event - Tomac has the chance to take the championship lead into Las Vegas with a win or second here tonight. Even a third will have them even on points.

Osborne gets the holeshot with Tomac in second and Anderson third.

Tomac is struggling in the whoops and Anderson gets by both into the lead. Seely gets by Tomac, Davalos gets by... Tomac is going backwards in the whoops and needs to get his head together.

Tomac is now five points behind Roczen in the championship when he could have been five in front!

Anderson is going to win his first AMA 250 race from Cole Seely and Martin Davalos. Eli Tomac has missed a big opportunity and finishes sixth.

Feature Video - Ama Supercross 2013, Round 16 Salt Lake, a Gopro Lap with Davi Millsaps:


450 Heat 1 - Dungey is out front from Canard, Short, Tickle and Reed.

Mid way through the heat and Reed stops. He has a rock stuck in his rear brake and can't get it out. He has to pull off the track and go to the LCQ.

Dungey wins the heat from Canard and Short.

450 Heat 2 - The top two are next to each other on the line in this heat, Villopoto and Millsaps.

Off the start it's Villopoto with the holeshot from Millsaps then its Josh Hill and Justin Barcia. Millsaps is really fast through the whoops and able to put pressure on Villopoto.

Millsaps goes under Villopoto in a bowl turn and passes him in the following rythym section.

Millsaps wins the heat (and gets the fastest lap time doing it) from Villopoto, Hill and Barcia.

450 LCQ - Reed looks a class above the field and takes an easy win to go through to the main.

450 Main Event - Villopoto gets the start from Millsaps and Dungey. This race is only about the top three because if either Millsaps and Dungey don't get by Villopoto he wins the championship.

The pace is blistering as the top three can almost be covered with a blanket. Villopoto is not as fast in the whoops, but quicker at other sections so the gap fluctuates between 1.5 seconds to 1.7 seconds, That's Right!!! only tenths of a second between their lap times.

The leaders have lapped up to tenth and by lap 20... Ryan Villopoto is the winner and THREE TIME AMA Supercross champ!

Results Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013:Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013

  1. Ryan Villopoto Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013
  2. Davi Millsaps Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013
  3. Ryan Dungey Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013

Point Standings after Round 16: Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013

  1. Ryan Villopoto - 346
  2. Davi Millsaps - 318
  3. Ryan Dungey - 315
  4. Justin Barcia - 261
  5. Chad Reed - 224
  6. Trey Canard - 220
  7. Andrew Short - 202
  8. Justin Brayton - 177
  9. James Stewart - 174
  10. Broc Tickle - 165

Ryan Villopoto has joined an elite group of Hannah, McGrath and Carmichael winning three supercross championships in a row! He sustained the pressure and stood up after a poor start to the championship.

The battle in Vegas will be for second place with Millsaps and Dungey going for the number two spot.

Round 16 Ama Supercross Salt Lake 2013