AMA Supercross 2013 - Round 11 Indianapolis

Monster Energy AMA Supercross is now at Round 11 of the AMA Supercross in Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis.

The track looks like it wont be an easy one to pass on so getting a good start will be the key. The wall jump and sand sections are back and the soil is tacky and will form ruts throughout the night.

250 Heat 1 - This heat has only one real contender on the line and that's Marvin Musquin. Musquin takes the lead early and comes home with what you can only call an easy win.

250 Heat 2 - Dean Wilson, Zach Bell, Will Hahn, last years winner Blake Wharton make this a more competitive heat.

Dean Wilson takes the early lead from Justin Hill but while exiting a turn collects a tough block and comes down hard on his shoulder.

Blake Wharton gets to the front after Will Hahn almost loses it in the whoops (riding on the front wheel over a few whoops and off the track). Wharton wins the heat from Justin Hill and Will Hahn who recovered to be third.

Zach Bell had to go to the LCQ which he won.

250 Main Event - Dean Wilson did not do the LCQ and will not line up for the main.

Blake Wharton takes the holeshot while Musquin, Hahn, Martin and Bell are way back in the pack.

By lap five Wharton still leads, but the real news is how Musquin and Hahn have sliced their way thorugh the pack to be fifth and seventh respectively.

Last lap and it looks like Wharton will repeat his win until he stumbles in the whoops and crashes into the next lane. Musquin, Peters and Hahn get by Wharton to finish one, two and three.

Feature Video - Ama Supercross 2013, Round 11 Indianapolis Animated Track Map:


450 Heat 1 - Mike Alessi gets the holeshot, but Ryan Villopoto gets by quickly and clears out to take the win by 10 seconds.

Trey Canard, Ryan Dungey, Alessi, Barcia all qualify behind Villopoto.

450 Heat 2 - Andrew Short grabs the holeshot from James Stewart, Weimer, Goerke and Millsaps.

By the end of the heat Stewart has won over Millsaps and Short. Chad Reed has finished in sixth.

450 Main Event - Davi Millspas gets the holeshot, but is quickly passed by Stewart before the end of the first lap. The running order is Stewart, Millsaps, Villopoto and Dungey.

Trey Canard and Justin Barcia jump alongside each other over a triple on lap three, Barcia's whip may have tapped Canard and he goes down hard.

Stewart is ahead of Villopoto (who's gotten by Millsaps) and Dungey and could be a threat, but then James Stewart gets stuck in a rut and stalls his engine which knocks him back to fifth.

Stewart gets by Andrew Short which puts him back to fourth and is closing in on Millsaps.

Dungey is keeping close to Villopoto and on the last lap Stewart passes Millsaps when he loses his front after the finish line jump.

Villopoto wins from Dungey and Stewart. Millsaps finishes fourth and loses more ground to Villopoto.

Results Round 11 Ama Supercross Indianapolis 2013:

  1. Ryan Villopoto
  2. Ryan Dungey
  3. James Stewart

Point Standings after Round 10:

  1. Ryan Villopoto - 227
  2. Davi Millsaps - 218
  3. Ryan Dungey - 210
  4. Chad Reed - 178
  5. Justin Barcia - 168
  6. Trey Canard - 165
  7. James Stewart - 155
  8. Andrew Short - 136
  9. Justin Brayton - 112
  10. Broc Tickle - 109

That was like a big arenacross track!

Davi Millsaps lost more points to Villopoto and although Dungey was close at times he couldn't mangae to push or even compete with Villopoto for the win.

If you can't get a good start in supercross (and particularly tight tracks like this) you cannot win at this level. Chad Reed will not win a race unless he holeshots because he's not getting through traffic at all!