AMA Supercross 2013 - Round 10 Daytona

Monster Energy AMA Supercross is up to Round 10 of the AMA Supercross with the start of bike week at Daytona.

This has to be the best supercross track anywhere! Designed by the 'GOAT', Ricky Carmichael, the Daytona supercross track has it all. Is it a motocross track with supercross jumps or a supercross track with motocross lap times?

250 Heat 1 - Points leader Will Hahn quickly gets by Kyle Peters and clears off for the win.

Zach Bell gets himself to second and Jimmy Decotis comes in third.

250 Heat 2 - Dean Wilson takes the lead before the end of the first lap. Marvin Musquin comes home in second and Blake Wharton is third.

250 Main Event - Marvin Musquin anticipates the gate drop to perfection and has almost a full bike lead on all riders a few metres out from the line.

Musquin is leading Wilson and Hahn, but Wilson looks like he's fading and I think Hahn will get him. Hahn gets by into second and Jeremy Martins fitness is showing through as he is chipping away each lap at Wilson in front of him.

By the end of the race Marvin Musquin takes his first supercross win in the states ahead of points leader Will Hahn and Jeremy Martin who got by Dean Wilson in the end.

Feature Video - Ama Supercross 2013, Round 10 Daytona Animated Track Map:


450 Heat 1 - Broc Tickle grabs the holeshot with Andrew Short and Ken Roczen on a KTM 350 behind.

Eight lap heat races are a long time at Daytona and Tickle, Short, Roczen and by the end of the heat, James Stewart have had the lead.

450 Heat 2 - Justin Barcia takes the lead off the line and holds it for the win. Reed and Alessi come together going out of turn two.

Ryan Villopoto is second, Trey Canard third, Tomac fourth and Reed works his way back up to fifth.

450 LCQ - Mike Alessi wins the LCQ and Kiniry and Peick take it right to the line with Peick getting the last qualifying spot.

450 Main Event - Ryan Villopoto gets out front followed by Ken Roczen. Villopoto slides out and Roczen takes over the lead.

By lap four Villopoto is back in front, Barcia has gotten by Roczen and Stewart drops it in a corner. Ryan Dungey is starting to challenge Roczen. Millsaps has an injury and is way back in tenth. At this rate he will lose the series lead to Villopoto.

Ryan Villopoto wins Daytona! And takes over the series lead. Dungey comes home in second with Barcia in third.

Eli Tomac finishes strongly in fourth and Reed has an up and down night to finish fifth. At times he was the fastest guy on the track, but if you're going to get average starts then put it down you can't expect to win.

Results Round 10 Ama Supercross Daytona 2013:

  1. Ryan Villopoto
  2. Ryan Dungey
  3. Justin Barcia

Point Standings after Round 10:

  1. Ryan Villopoto - 202
  2. Davi Millsaps - 200
  3. Ryan Dungey - 188
  4. Trey Canard - 163
  5. Chad Reed - 163
  6. Justin Barcia - 152
  7. James Stewart - 135
  8. Andrew Short - 122
  9. Justin Brayton - 104
  10. Broc Tickle - 99

What an epic track is Daytona!

Davi Millsaps has lost his lead and didn't look like himself at all tonight. Villopoto is a bit like Stewart where he either wins or hits the dirt. Tonight it was winning time.

AMA supercross was showcased in great fashion at Daytona, Eli Tomac's fitness showed through while Roczen was shown to be lacking. Chad Reed needs to get the starts from earlier in the season (but not the first turn crashes) so he can compete with the likes of Villopoto, Dungey and Stewart.